Max fifth in Abu Dhabi FP2: 'Not fully happy'

Published on 29 November 2019 by Stefan Meens

After second place in FP1, Max Verstappen clocked the fifth fastest time in the second free practice session at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. Valtteri Bottas was once again quickest. His Mercedes team mate Lewis Hamilton was second, ahead of Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc.

“There is still some work to do. In general, the car isn’t bad but I’m not totally happy”, explained Max.

Max opens his session with three purple sectors and the fastest lap on a medium set of Pirellis.

Not long after, Charles Leclerc kicks of qualifying simulations, resulting in low-fuel runs on the soft Pirellis. The Ferrari driver is testing the limit and, eventually, goes over it; at the same spot where his team mate Sebastian Vettel hit the barriers in FP1, the youngster brushes the wall but is able to continue.

Now that most teams opt for qualifying runs, the lap times tumble. Mercedes and Ferrari lead the way. Max sits in fifth, but going wide at turn five means the Dutchman should have some more time in hand.

With less than 20 minutes to go, an incident between Bottas and Romain Grosjean causes a red flag. The Frenchman fails to notice the Mercedes and turn his Haas straight into the Silver Arrow. The two collide causing considerable damage. Nevertheless, both the Haas and the Mercedes are able to make it back to the pits.

The track is given the all-clear with twelve minutes to go. Everyone, bar Bottas and Grosjean, go out, but no lap time improvements are noted.

Abu Dhabi GP contest: win a Red Bull Racing team backpack

Results second free practice Abu-dhabi:

1Valtteri BottasBOTMercedes1:36.256 28
2Lewis HamiltonHAMMercedes1:36.566+0.310s32
3Charles LeclercLECFerrari1:36.642+0.386s29
4Sebastian VettelVETFerrari1:36.691+0.435s27
5Max VerstappenVERRed Bull Racing Honda1:36.807+0.551s29
6Alexander AlbonALBRed Bull Racing Honda1:37.288+1.032s29
7Romain GrosjeanGROHaas Ferrari1:37.601+1.345s17
8Sergio PerezPERRacing Point BWT Mercedes1:37.637+1.381s31
9Daniil KvyatKVYScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:37.651+1.395s33
10Pierre GaslyGASScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:37.770+1.514s35
11Carlos SainzSAIMcLaren Renault1:37.834+1.578s31
12Lando NorrisNORMcLaren Renault1:37.918+1.662s31
13Lance StrollSTRRacing Point BWT Mercedes1:37.985+1.729s31
14Kevin MagnussenMAGHaas Ferrari1:38.080+1.824s30
15Nico HulkenbergHULRenault1:38.122+1.866s28
16Daniel RicciardoRICRenault1:38.400+2.144s25
17Kimi RäikkönenRAIAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:38.415+2.159s29
18Antonio GiovinazziGIOAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:38.464+2.208s31
19George RussellRUSWilliams Mercedes1:39.512+3.256s31
20Robert KubicaKUBWilliams Mercedes1:40.455+4.199s31