Verstappen eighth in third Bahrain free practice

Published on 30 March 2019 by Kees-Jan Koster

Max Verstappen set the eighth time in the third and final Bahrain free practice. During this last session in daylight, drivers did not make a lot of laps. Verstappen only drove ten laps. With a time of 1:30.959 on the softest tyre compound, Max clearly did not show his hand. Both Ferraris of Charles Leclerc and Sebastian Vettel ended in first and second position, with more than six tenths ahead of Lewis Hamilton.

Under a clear blue sky, the third free practice on the Bahrain International Circuit gets underway. It is the last time this weekend that the drivers will be able to drive in daylight, as both qualifying and the race will start after sunset. So the drivers are waiting patiently before leaving the pits. After the first fifteen minutes only both Ferraris and both Alfa Romeos have set a time.

Halfway the third free practice, Max enters the track for the first time, with soft tyres on the RB15. The Dutchman sets 1:30.959 in his first flying lap, immediately claiming first position. After five laps Verstappen returns to his team.

A little while later Charles Leclerc improves Max’ time (1:29.569), with Ferrari teammate Vettel only a fraction behind. Max comes out on track during the final phase on a fresh set of soft tyres. After two quick sector times, Max slows down and does not improve his time. So Max ends in P8 with 10 laps driven. Again the practice is dominated by Ferrari, with Leclerc quickest, followed closely by Vettel. Lewis Hamilton ends in third, more than seven tenths behind Leclerc.

Bahrain GP contest: win a G-Star MAXRAW sweater!

Results third free practice Bahrain:

1Charles LeclercLECFerrari1:29.569 15
2Sebastian VettelVETFerrari1:29.738+0.169s16
3Lewis HamiltonHAMMercedes1:30.334+0.765s10
4Valtteri BottasBOTMercedes1:30.389+0.820s12
5Romain GrosjeanGROHaas Ferrari1:30.818+1.249s14
6Nico HulkenbergHULRenault1:30.910+1.341s12
7Lando NorrisNORMcLaren Renault1:30.955+1.386s15
8Max VerstappenVERRed Bull Racing Honda1:30.959+1.390s10
9Carlos SainzSAIMcLaren Renault1:30.965+1.396s14
10Daniil KvyatKVYScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:31.173+1.604s17
11Kimi RäikkönenRAIAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:31.333+1.764s21
12Pierre GaslyGASRed Bull Racing Honda1:31.392+1.823s13
13Kevin MagnussenMAGHaas Ferrari1:31.540+1.971s13
14Lance StrollSTRRacing Point BWT Mercedes1:31.618+2.049s16
15Sergio PerezPERRacing Point BWT Mercedes1:31.638+2.069s9
16Daniel RicciardoRICRenault1:31.643+2.074s11
17Alexander AlbonALBScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:31.679+2.110s17
18Antonio GiovinazziGIOAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:32.132+2.563s21
19George RussellRUSWilliams Mercedes1:33.387+3.818s14
20Robert KubicaKUBWilliams Mercedes1:33.525+3.956s13